Reformatting sucks

Primary discussion forum. Also, feel free this use as a hangout for fans of the funny non-story based comics.

Moderator: Mod Squad

Reformatting sucks

Postby Wildcard » Thu Jan 16, 2003 2:34 pm

Especially when you know Windows XP home takes less than a CD of space and you for some god awful reason have to load seven horrrendous ass loads of total shit onto your system. Oh well at least this is the FINAL time I have to do so for awhile cause I know for a fact this copy of windows is activated (Cause its legal dammit).
[22:38] <DJ_Cyni-Cole> you're tell me, a writer, that books are lame?
Jesus fuels with 89 Octane and so do I. Eat it, heritics. -Halo
Moderator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Charleston, SC
Gender: None specified

Postby nwzinc » Thu Jan 16, 2003 3:05 pm

*points and laughs*
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:20 pm
Gender: None specified

Postby Sidious » Thu Jan 16, 2003 3:09 pm

Alright children let us all mock the lil monkey.

Bad monkey
I am the sexual teddy bear

The Hardcore Empire
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:38 am
Location: In your mother's bed
Gender: None specified

Postby Nix » Thu Jan 16, 2003 3:32 pm

'Reason #58 not to use WinXP'
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5874
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: None specified

Postby Can O Ninja Repellant » Thu Jan 16, 2003 7:11 pm

i got XP pro legally (from MS themselves) for 40 dollars. i've had to reformat twice (motherboard issues, don't buy gigabyte) and it doesn't take that long even though i have a 120 GB hdd, and literally multiple entire TV series on it.

maybe your CD drive isn't good or something. iuno. :wildcard:
It's like sunscreen for Ninjas
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: in my pants (sometimes)
Gender: None specified

Postby BlackMage » Thu Jan 16, 2003 7:49 pm

damn!, talkin about reformatting
i've reformatted my WinXP annoying Version 10 times in the last count...
Image
"Shit Happens... Especially when there's LAG!"
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 5:53 am
Gender: None specified

Postby Dave » Thu Jan 16, 2003 8:09 pm

wooo I don't know what your talking about but I installed Window 98 in my class yesterday. that was neat.
WiNg0o wrote:To be honest I thought Dave just existed. In the beginning there was Dave.
Administrator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 18162
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Gender: None specified

Postby Alex2 » Thu Jan 16, 2003 8:19 pm

:snoogins:

I haven't had to reformat my HD for about a year or two now. I did a few months ago, but I didn't have to.

Win2k kicks ass!

BTW: I have a copy of the Corperate edition of WinXP. No activation needed. :snoogins: :snoogins:
- Alex

Image
Image
The Unifed Earth Alliance - Mecha, Love and Adventure abound!

"The American Taxpayer has always been lied to. It is his birthright."
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Writing the history of the future...
Gender: None specified

Postby Kris » Thu Jan 16, 2003 8:36 pm

I remember when I had to mail my precious computer home so that my dad could whipe it out, reformat, and reinstall everything for me.

I missed it.

I was like, internet less for 2 or 3 weeks... It was crazy. I didn't know what to do with myself.... scarey shit....
Kris: that's Han Solo
Nix: That guys always smoking foo's
Nix: He be all "Nigga Vada please!"

Darkstar Studios
----------------------------------------------
Wildcard: Kris is the most beautiful man alive
Kris: aww, thanks Wayne
Moderator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: In your pants, haha.....oh
Gender: None specified

Postby Wildcard » Thu Jan 16, 2003 8:55 pm

I had XP pro COrporate a month befor XP came out. And Alex it STARTS OFF as having no activation required, cause thats what I downloaded. Somehow some way it downloaded the next patch for the XP OS and it deemed my version invalid and thus is just randomly told me how much of the trial period I had left based on how long it had been installed. There's a way around it but I'd need DOS, a boot disk, and I'd have to monkey with it. I'm back on XP Home (not as bad as I thought it would be cause Home, despite what some people have lied about, supports two monitor systems). I also got back a few things I missed like the actual video and DVD drivers I needed so all in all Im glad I did it now. WeO. Oh and XP kicks any other Microsoft OS right in the nuts. Never before XP could I go half a month without restarting or shutting of my computer and still get great performance out of it.
[22:38] <DJ_Cyni-Cole> you're tell me, a writer, that books are lame?
Jesus fuels with 89 Octane and so do I. Eat it, heritics. -Halo
Moderator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Charleston, SC
Gender: None specified

Postby Nix » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:14 pm

All I'm going to say, is that every single computer on my 7 machine network is Win98SE, and you don't see me posting messages on here about how nothing works, and "Why can't I get this going" and "I had to reformat AGAIN" or "My OS doesn't have DOS so I have to start all over".

Nuff said.
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5874
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: None specified

Postby Wildcard » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:17 pm

Only problem with XP is it was pirated and Microsoft has taken some pretty good measures for anti piracy lately. I'll be on XP home, unless I get a virus (not likely since I've stopped downloading programs from people I don't know), indefinitely. Plus I have a decent recovery partition setup now thanks to HP, so like...worse comes to worse I pull a recovery. Not a format.
[22:38] <DJ_Cyni-Cole> you're tell me, a writer, that books are lame?
Jesus fuels with 89 Octane and so do I. Eat it, heritics. -Halo
Moderator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Charleston, SC
Gender: None specified

Postby HaloGray » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:43 pm

Dual Boot... save yourselves....

Install Win98Se

CLEAN install Win2k.

Win2k hasn't crashed for a few months now without a reboot... and whenever the need to do something DOS extensive comes around I use Win98....... basicly.... I haven't used Win98 since I installed 2k.

WinXP = Win2k with more game support and 10x the bloat and crap in there.
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 6898
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:09 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Gender: None specified

Postby Lengeta » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:44 pm

I was under the impression that win98 was best for games... less overhead or something
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 10945
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 11:59 pm
Location: Lehi, UT
Gender: None specified

Postby Wildcard » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:48 pm

Older games worked better with 98. Took some tweeking to get the ole X Wing game to work with XP but I did it so meh.
[22:38] <DJ_Cyni-Cole> you're tell me, a writer, that books are lame?
Jesus fuels with 89 Octane and so do I. Eat it, heritics. -Halo
Moderator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Charleston, SC
Gender: None specified

Postby Nix » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:53 pm

All games work better with Win98SE, Layne.
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5874
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: None specified

Postby Lengeta » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:55 pm

98, 98se, same dif, Iz just sayin
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 10945
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 11:59 pm
Location: Lehi, UT
Gender: None specified

Postby Nix » Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:56 pm

98SE is significantly better. Increased stability as well as updated driver libraries and trimmed down DLL for faster execution.
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5874
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: None specified

Postby HaloGray » Fri Jan 17, 2003 12:01 am

I've never had a problem with Win2k for games... but I like getting the most out of my machine so for a heavy game such as WC3... I'll play it on Win98... however Win2k isn't the hog is used to be, and it's super stable and easy to network (unlike the horrid reputation it gathered until SP2) now with Win2k Service Pack 3.... no problems what so ever.
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 6898
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:09 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Gender: None specified

Postby Kris » Fri Jan 17, 2003 12:41 am

Yeah..well... you suck...or something....
Kris: that's Han Solo
Nix: That guys always smoking foo's
Nix: He be all "Nigga Vada please!"

Darkstar Studios
----------------------------------------------
Wildcard: Kris is the most beautiful man alive
Kris: aww, thanks Wayne
Moderator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: In your pants, haha.....oh
Gender: None specified

Postby Nix » Fri Jan 17, 2003 1:00 am

I restarted my main server yesterday so I could move it a few feet over to make room for the new Kazaa server.
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5874
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: None specified

Postby maxx_unlimited » Fri Jan 17, 2003 1:26 am

Windows error #a30g4
Mouse input error, check connection.
Left click right mouse button to continue.
Image
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: Portland Or-ee-gun
Gender: None specified

Postby Can O Ninja Repellant » Fri Jan 17, 2003 2:29 am

to make room for the new Kazaa server.


explain.
It's like sunscreen for Ninjas
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: in my pants (sometimes)
Gender: None specified

Postby Wildcard » Fri Jan 17, 2003 10:48 am

Yeah Corporate was pretty damn smooth. I need to get that program from you again so I can check my uptime and stuff. I was up to 25 days when XP told me I had 4 days left of my trial period. Poopie.
[22:38] <DJ_Cyni-Cole> you're tell me, a writer, that books are lame?
Jesus fuels with 89 Octane and so do I. Eat it, heritics. -Halo
Moderator

User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Charleston, SC
Gender: None specified

Postby Nix » Fri Jan 17, 2003 1:28 pm

Can O':

I got bored two days ago so I built another computer out of spare parts I had on the floor, decided to make it into a dedicated 'Kazaa Server' thats sits on the Kazaa network 24/7. That way I can share my stuff and also download stuff all the time without wasting processing power on my gaming computers.

Once I was done building it I just stripped off the keyboard, mouse and monitor and so it sits in the corner with just power and a network cable.
User avatar
offline
 
Posts: 5874
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: None specified

Next

Return to Snafu General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests